What is The Arizona Corporation Commission?

The Corporation Commission of Arizona serves a vital role within the state. This corporation, which was established in the Arizona Constitution, Article 15, serves as the commission of public utilities for Arizona among other responsibilities. As Secretary of State, Michele Reagan understands the important role the corporation plays within the state’s framework and wants to inform all voters of their responsibilities. The following is more information on the Arizona Corporation Commission:

What is a Public Utilities Commission?

As mentioned above, the Arizona Corporation Commission is a public utilities commission within the state of Arizona. This means it’s a governing body that helps regulate services and rates associated with public utilities. Arizona’s Corporation Commission has more responsibilities than some states though, including duties that regulate not only public utility companies within Arizona, but also organizations, businesses, railroad/pipeline safety and securities within the state.

What Makes Arizona Corporation Commission Different?

Arizona is only one of fourteen states with commissioners who are elected serving the role in their corporation commission. In most states, a governor-appointed commission is the general rule. However, the Arizona constitution calls for an elected commission. This commission is elected statewide and serves a four-year staggered term.

What is the Mission Statement or Purpose of The Arizona Corporation Commission?

According to the commission’s site, their mission is to “power Arizona’s future.” They do this by helping grow Arizona’s economy, ensuring the availability of reliable, safe and affordable utility services as well as helping local entrepreneurs as they seek to live out their dreams of business ownership within the great state of Arizona. They also seek to protect Arizona citizens in part by ensuring an ethical securities marketplace and modernizing a responsive, effective and efficient government.

How Many Commissioners Serve on the Corporation?

As of November 2000, there are five commissioners who serve on the Arizona Corporation Commission. These elected officials serve a four-year term, with the possibility of being reelected once for another consecutive four-year term. Of this five-person team, they choose among themselves who will serve as the commission chairman. In the event of a vacancy, the Governor will appoint a new commissioner to serve until the next election.

The Responsibilities of The Corporation Commission

As mentioned above, Arizona’s corporation commission goes beyond simply monitoring utility companies. The commissioners actually function in an Executive capacity within the state of Arizona per the Arizona Constitution. They also act in a Legislative capacity by adopting regulations and rules and serve in a judicial capacity by making decisions in contested matters and sitting as a tribunal.

The Commission Staff

The staff within the Corporation Commission is divided into nine parts, all of which answer to a director of that division who then reports to the Executive Director. The executive director reports to the commissioners and is responsible for their own division.

Division of Responsibilities For Arizona Corporation Commission

  • Executive Director: This role is outlined above.
  • Administration: This division of the commission informs the media and the general public on all commission activities. It also oversees the direction, coordination, and plans of the fiscal administrative activities that support the commissioners and all divisions of the commission.
  • Communications Division: This division approves filings for Arizona businesses.
  • Hearings: This division exercises the right of the commission to hold hearings on public matters.
  • Information Technology: This division oversees information technology relating to design, communications, implementation, and maintenance.
  • Legal: This division provides legal representation, advice and legal assistance to each division and the commissioners.
  • Safety: The pipeline safety division enforces safe operating practices and standards relating to the pipeline and railroad safety.
  • Securities: This division ensures the integrity of the securities marketplace.
  • Utilities: This division oversees the quality and rates of public service utilities.





Leave a Comment